Migrate Win10 to a SSD

Ji Huang 2021-02-22 1 min read

I bought a SSD for my Dell server. I installed it on my Dell server and migrate Win10 from the old HDD to the new SSD. Here are the steps.

  1. Install the SSD in the desktop. The connection is SATA-based.

  2. Download AOMEI Partition Assistant. 中文:傲梅分区助手. There is an option in the tool for Migrate OS to SSD. Just follow the instructions. For me, the T30 has RAID, so I need to use the PreOS migration.

  3. Go to BIOS to change the boost order. Select boosting from SSD as the first option. I kept the old system disk. You can remove it to free space if you want to.

  4. Restart computer and you are done.

  5. I installed the CrystalDiskInfo8_11_1 to check the SSD info. Below is the screenshot.

Imgur

  1. I installed the AS SSD Benchmark for SSD benchmark. Below is the screenshot. CrystalDiskMark is an alternative.

Imgur

The performace is great so far. I can feel the Win10 is much faster now.