FTP and markdown packages in Atom

2017-02-25 1 min read

My main working desktop is Windows 7 and I use Bitvise SHH client to connect to department server which running Ubuntu 14.04. I usually use Notpad++ ftp function to connect with server and do some text copy/editing. It works fine, I do not have any complains about it.

However, I started using Atom last year and I really like it. With full support for git and Markdown, it definitely better than Notepad++ (I still use Notepad++ to open plain text file on Windows). So I was wondering whether I can connect to server using Atom, so I can stay in Atom for most of time.

By the way, somehow on my Windows7 desktop, the default Mardown Preview can’t do live update. So I changed to Markdown Preview Enhanced. That works pretty well.

The problem for Markdown Preview Enhanced is, it does not support kramdown. Actually, I did not find any packages can perfectly support it. The language-markdown has some support, but definitely not perfect.

For example it has this problem: Imgur

Use Atom Commander for FTP server.

updated 3/17/2017

Use Ftp-Remote-Edit for FTP server.

updated 9/27/2017

It has a nice view and showing on the left/right side of the dock. Better than Atom Commander that showing at the bottom of the window.